MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Not able to queue the word submit in REXX...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
raj051076
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 21

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:48 am    Post subject: Not able to queue the word submit in REXX... Reply with quote

When I try to do QUEUE "SUBMIT', it looks for a JCL to submit, but I want to write that in a file. How do I do that
_________________
Rajib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12357
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raj051076,

Did you check this topic?

http://www.mvsforums.com/helpboards/viewtopic.php?t=42&highlight=submit
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
raj051076
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 21

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kolusu, the problem is not that. I know how to submit a JCL through REXX. Infact in that link, I suggested the solution in 2003:) when I used to code almost 16 hours a day:) It brought back some memory.

Anyway my problem is when I get the stepname from TYPE 30, some of the stepnames are named as "SUBMIT". When I do a push "submit" to write it later into the report, I get an error since it looks for a JCL to submit when I push the word submit in queue.

Thanks
_________________
Rajib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12357
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raj051076 wrote:
Anyway my problem is when I get the stepname from TYPE 30, some of the stepnames are named as "SUBMIT". When I do a push "submit" to write it later into the report, I get an error since it looks for a JCL to submit when I push the word submit in queue.

Thanks


Why not move the value of the STEPNAME as variable to your report? Why are you extracting the text and queuing/PUSH the verb "submit"?
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
raj051076
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 21

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am pushing the variable only but it still fails:(
_________________
Rajib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12357
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raj051076 wrote:
I am pushing the variable only but it still fails:(


what is the error message that you are receiving?
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12357
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raj051076,

Just to check the validity I coded this small rexx exec and it runs absolutely fine

Code:

 /*REXX*/                                                         
 ADDRESS TSO                                                         
 "ALLOC DA('"KOLUSU.RAJB.PUSH"') F(OUTDD) BLKSIZE (27920)           
           NEW SPACE(10,20) TRACKS REUSE LRECL (80) RECFM (F B)"     
                                                                     
  QUEUE 'SUBMIT'                                                     
  "ALLOC DA('KOLUSU.RAJB.PUSH') F(OUTDD) SHR REUSE"                 
  "EXECIO 1 DISKW OUTDD (FINIS)"                                     


and Queuing as a variable worked too

Code:

 /*REXX*/                                                         
  ADDRESS TSO                                                     
  "ALLOC DA('"KOLUSU.RAJB.PUSH"') F(OUTDD) BLKSIZE (27920)         
            NEW SPACE(10,20) TRACKS REUSE LRECL (80) RECFM (F B)" 
                                                                   
   MYVAR = 'SUBMIT'                                               
   QUEUE  MYVAR                                                   
   QUEUE 'BLAH BLAH'                                               
   "ALLOC DA('KOLUSU.RAJB.PUSH') F(OUTDD) SHR REUSE"               
   "EXECIO 2 DISKW OUTDD (FINIS)"                         

_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
raj051076
Beginner


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 21

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kolusu, I was using push, using queue solved the problem
_________________
Rajib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group