MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Customizing File-Aid (IMS)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
misi01
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 620
Topics: 173
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:28 am    Post subject: Customizing File-Aid (IMS) Reply with quote

This question is for File-Aid IMS, but is probably equally relevant for any other variations.

When we use FA, our IMS databases can be called either 'SIMMIC.DIALDBDT.DBS10' (my private one) or 'SDST.DIALDBDA.DBS10' (lowest test level) or 'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS10' (highest test level).

The panel that allows me to select the databases looks like this
Code:

XIXDSNS1 OWSE   ---- Data Base Dataset Specif
COMMAND ===>                                 
                                             
Obtain DB Dataset Names from ===>  P  (P = Pr
                                       I = IM
                                             
DBRC not active                             
                                             
                                             
DBD      DDNAME   DATASET NAME               
-------- -------- ---------------------------
DBS10    DBS10    'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS10'     
DBS100   DBS100   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS100'     
DBS101   DBS101   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS101'     
DBS102   DBS102   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS102'     
DBS103   DBS103   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS103'     
DBS104   DBS104   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS104'     
DBS105   DBS105   'SDST.DIALDBDT.DBS105'     


As you can imagine, it's a bit of a hassle changing the leading SDST to SIMMIC or the reverse.
I suddenly thought that if I knew where the variables for the screen above are picked up from, I could have some sort of a front-end to FA such that I could start it with something like FAIMS SIMMIC.*.DBS10 or FAIMS SDST.DIALDBDA.DBS10 or similar and the relevent fields would all be filled in with the values I wanted from the start.

Trouble is, I can't seem to find where these variables are stored so as to change them (I've scoured the FA libraries and it seems that for this screen, XIXDSNS1, the variables seem to be called IXTDYN and IXTSHDW, but I can ONLY find references to these in some FA load library)

Does anyone have an idea?
_________________
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12368
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

misi01,

I don't have file-aid to help you on that. However you can do it outside file-aid and have it ready when you invoke it. I do this for IPCS

1. Go to 3.4 and bring up the listing
Code:

SIMMIC.*.DBS10*

This will bring up all your dataset names matching that criteria

2. Type the ALLOC command on to the left of the dsn name (you can overtype on dsn name)
Code:

ALLOC F(ddname) DA(/) SHR

** ddname = your ddname you want the file to be allocated. In your case it is DBS10 for the first one


So the command for you is

Code:

ALLOC F(DBS10) DA(/) SHR


This will allocate SIMMIC.DIALDBDT.DBS10 to DBS10 ddname and now if you invoke the File-aid panel you should have this dataset listed for DBS10 ddname.

You can repeat the same procedure for the other datasets
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
misi01
Advanced


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 620
Topics: 173
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion .... which didn't seem to work unfortunately.

When I start FA, one database I have contains a data cluster and an index cluster called 'simmic.dialdbdt.dat22' and 'simmic.dialdbdt.dat220' (fewer entries to faff around with).

What I did was to follow your ALLOC suggestion for the DAT22 entry (but on the 3.4 panel I specified SDST.*.dat22 (for our test databases).
I then performed the ALLOC command against SDST.DIALDBDA.DAT22 only thinking that logically (?) when I started FA, the DAT22 entry would show SDST etc and the DAT220 entry would show SIMMIC (since I hadn't reallocated that entry).

Unfortunately, both entries pointed at SIMMIC.

I'm guessing that FA keeps the prefix for each database "hidden" somewhere, question is .... where?
_________________
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Utilities All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group