View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 20, 2022 2:58 am Post subject: IDz debug commands |
|
|
When debugging an IMS online program, we have the option of specifying a file for Commands data set and Preference data set
My very first question. It seems as if you can't use a PDS/member for each file, you have (?) to use a simple sequential file.
I find this so unusual and unexpected that I'm thinking we're doing something wrong rather than that you can't.
Are there any limitations that aren't obvious. For example, a PDS is okay, but not a PDSE. A PDS(E) is okay, but it has to be defined with specific DCB's.
Like I say, we must (?) be doing something wrong.
Here are the contents of my default debug file
Quote: | CLEAR LOG ;
SET INTERCEPT ON ;
SET AUTOMONITOR ON LOG ; |
_________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri May 20, 2022 9:10 am Post subject: Re: IDz debug commands |
|
|
misi01 wrote: |
My very first question. It seems as if you can't use a PDS/member for each file, you have (?) to use a simple sequential file.
I find this so unusual and unexpected that I'm thinking we're doing something wrong rather than that you can't.
|
misi01,
Your commands and preference file can be a SEQ or a PDS file. you can use GPFDSN which specifies that z/OS Debugger process a global preferences file.
Here is a link that explains about it.
https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/debug-for-zos/14.1?topic=dec-gpfdsn _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Mon May 23, 2022 1:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, here is where I am. Remember, this is IDz, and not "standard" DEBUG tool (though I appreciate that a lot of the latter has probably been hooked into IDz).
Starting question here. How do I embed an img (I thought Id embed images instead of writing everything, but I don't know how to)? I appreciate that I click on the Img tag, but what do I then do to include it in the post?
First of all, my attempts with a PDS was based on DCB's organization PO, RECFM F, LRECL 80, BLOCK 80 and data set name type LIBRARY.
When debuging in IDz, I specified (under debugger options):-
Test level Test, Error level ALL, and Prompt level PROMPT.
Commands data set my.pds.ds(member1)
Preference data set my.pds.ds(member2)
I then ran the debug scenario, but the code was never interrupted in any way.
I then changed the following (where both DS point to a sequential file):
Commands data set my.pds.ds.member1
Preference data set my.pds.ds.member2
This time I see the following in the debug console tab
Quote: |
EQA2265I *** User preferences file commands follow ***
CLEAR LOG ;
SET AUTOMONITOR ON LOG ;
EQA2431I Automonitor is on for this debug session.
EQA2454I This CU is not AUTOMONITOR capable for expressions.
The current location is ZFEDA0 at line 0x00000000
SET AUTOMONITOR ON BOTH;
EQA2431I Automonitor is on for this debug session.
EQA2454I This CU is not AUTOMONITOR capable for expressions.
AT ENTRY ZFEXXL2 A-ZFEXXL2;
EQA2428E This command is either invalid or unsupported.
AT ENTRY ZFEXXL2;
EQA2268I *** User preferences file commands end ***
EQA2266I *** Commands file commands follow ***
AT LABEL A-ZFEXXL2;
EQA4849E The label variable is not in scope or does not exist in current compilation unit.
LIST W-BATCH;
LIST TITLED W-BATCH;
MONITOR LIST W-BATCH;
EQA2428E This command is either invalid or unsupported.
EQA2269I *** Commands file commands end ***
Program was stopped due to entry/function breakpoint on ZFEXXL2.
EQA4017I Load module DFSLI000 was loaded from LLA. The load module information was processed from a data set found in file STEPLIB .
Program was stopped due to storage change/watch breakpoint on W-BATCH for 1 byte(s).
|
_________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Mon May 23, 2022 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
misi01 wrote: | First of all, my attempts with a PDS was based on DCB's organization PO, RECFM F, LRECL 80, BLOCK 80 and data set name type LIBRARY. |
misi01,
You do realize that LIBRARY results in PDS(E) ? If you need a PDS you need to specify DSORG=PO[/b] _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2022 12:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Fair comment. I'll try again today, but if it suddenly works, that would mean that a PDSE is not supported.
Okay. Here are the new definitions.
Commands/preference datasets are xxxxxx.IDZ.DEBUG.PARMS.PDS(member1) and member2.
DCB's for that file
Quote: |
Organization . . . : PO
Record format . . . : F
Record length . . . : 80
Block size . . . . : 80
1st extent tracks . : 1
Secondary tracks . : 2
Data set name type : PDS
|
Same results; never stops to debug. _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2022 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
misi01,
Did you try issuing the commands
Code: |
EQAXOPT GPFDSN,’xxxxxx.IDZ.DEBUG.PARMS.PDS(member1)’
EQAXOPT GPFDSN
|
btw your commands need to be in position 8 thru 72. Looks like your commands start at position 1
IBM Debug for z/OS wrote: |
Put the commands in columns 8 - 72.
Do not put line numbers in the file.
Use COMMENT or /* */ to delimit comments. |
_________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2022 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are you sure we're not talking at x-purposes?
My take on it is as follows. Irrespective of which columns the commands should be in, the basic starting point is:-
- defining the command files as sequential files results in the commands within the files being run and shown in the debug console tab in IDz
- doing exactly the same using a PDS member results in nothing being run and nothing ending up in the console tab
The contents of the files are the same, the only difference I can see is PDS vs sequential.
I'll repeat my original question. When posting to the forum, one of the tag options is IMG. Are we able to post an image to the forum, or is the option a red herring? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2022 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
misi01 wrote: | Are you sure we're not talking at x-purposes? |
Not really.
misi01 wrote: |
The contents of the files are the same, the only difference I can see is PDS vs sequential. |
Well if you looked at the console log more clearly even when using Sequential file you would have seen this. Pay attention to the messages ending with E
idzlog wrote: |
EQA2266I *** Commands file commands follow ***
AT LABEL A-ZFEXXL2;
EQA4849E The label variable is not in scope or does not exist in current compilation unit.
LIST W-BATCH;
LIST TITLED W-BATCH;
MONITOR LIST W-BATCH;
EQA2428E This command is either invalid or unsupported.
EQA2269I *** Commands file commands end *** |
misi01 wrote: |
I'll repeat my original question. When posting to the forum, one of the tag options is IMG. Are we able to post an image to the forum, or is the option a red herring? |
You can embed images to the forum, but you cannot directly upload them to this forum. there are ton of free image sites that you can upload and then get the link of the image and then use the IMG tags.
[img ] your image url link here [/ img] remove the spaces in the tags when positng. _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2022 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So why do i only see those messages when the debug files are sequential, but when they're a PDS, I see nothing at all? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Wed May 25, 2022 10:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
misi01 wrote: | So why do i only see those messages when the debug files are sequential, but when they're a PDS, I see nothing at all? |
Did you read this ?
Debugger: User's Guide wrote: |
You can specify a commands file directly (for example, through the TEST runtime option) or through the EQAOPTS COMMANDSDSN command. If it is specified through the EQAOPTS COMANDSDSN command, it must be in a PDS or PDSE and the member name must match the name of the initial load module in the first enclave. For instructions on creating a commands files, see “Creating a commands file” on page 173. |
https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/debug-for-zos/14.1?topic=guide-data-sets-used-by-zos-debugger _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Thu May 26, 2022 3:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
No, I didn't read the reference in your last reply. I'll try looking into that.
But ..... I still don't get the mismatch in behavior when using one alternative with sequential files (and where IDz at least tries to run the commands contained there) and the other where the SAME commands
are contained in PDS members. (I even went so far so as to check whether the PDS members contained nums on and the sequential files didn't or similar - neither had any numbers in pos 73-80)
Note also that in both scenarios, the initial load module is called TFEDA0, and from what I understood of what you wrote, ONE of the two debug command files should have been named as such.
And yet, the sequential file variation stops in TFEDA0.
Just so we're on the same page ... I've used Dbeug Tool under CICS where I had a typical 3270 screen and I specified the load module and the file containing the debug commands I wanted run at the start of the debug session for that particular program. Here is an example of what that file looked like (and that worked fine). Commands started in position 2 (FWIW)
Code: |
SET AUTOMONITOR ON;
SIZE 15 SOURCE
SET WARNING OFF;
CLOSE LOG;
SET DEFAULT SCROLL CSR;
SET PF2 "SHOW" = LIST CURSOR;
SET PF11 "STEP" = STEP;
SET PF10 "ST OVER" = STEP OVER;
|
Update. I read the link you referred to and found the following:-
Quote: |
EQAOPTS file
This data set contains EQAOPTS commands that control initial settings and options for the debug session. Store it in a permanent PDS member or a sequential file. To learn how to specify EQAOPTS commands, see the topic "EQAOPTS commands" in the IBM z/OS Debugger Reference and Messages or the IBM z/OS Debugger Customization Guide.
The record format must be either F or FB and the logical record length must be 80.
A CICS region must have read authorization to the EQAOPTS file. |
I remember this well, since the commands above never worked to start with until we looked at the CICS log and discovered RACF was denying access. Grant access, and everything worked fine.
So, is there a difference using IDz and IMS vs Debug Tool and CICS ? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Thu May 26, 2022 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
misi01 wrote: |
I remember this well, since the commands above never worked to start with until we looked at the CICS log and discovered RACF was denying access. Grant access, and everything worked fine.
So, is there a difference using IDz and IMS vs Debug Tool and CICS ? |
misi01,
Probably because CICS transactions are running Authorized ? _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
misi01 Advanced
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 Posts: 628 Topics: 176 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quick question. Have you personally used IDz to debug an IMS online program? _________________ Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolusu Site Admin
Joined: 26 Nov 2002 Posts: 12373 Topics: 75 Location: San Jose
|
Posted: Fri May 27, 2022 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
misi01 wrote: | Quick question. Have you personally used IDz to debug an IMS online program? |
misi01,
I don't have access to IMS or CICS as I am a DFSORT developer. So the answer to your question is NO _________________ Kolusu
www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|