MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cobol Questions by Mcmillan
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mcmillan
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. The internal storage of 01 A PIC 99 VALUE 23 is 'F2F3'. //In HEX
Like this what is the internal format of 01 B PIC X(5) VALUE "AaBbZ". (In HEX)

2. What is the deifference in the following JCL EXEC Statements?
a) //STEP1 EXEC PGM=MAC
b) //STEP1 EXEC MAC
When should I use a and when b ? Can I use PARM parameter with both?
Back to top
Glenn
Beginner


Joined: 23 Mar 2003
Posts: 56
Topics: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Get an EBCDIC chart.
2) Please look up the EXEC term in the JCL manuals linked to at the beginning of the site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Macmillan,

Code:

1. The internal storage of 01 A PIC 99 VALUE 23 is 'F2F3'. //In HEX
Like this what is the internal format of 01 B PIC X(5) VALUE "AaBbZ". (In HEX)


Answer:C181C282E9
Code:

2.What is the deifference in the following JCL EXEC Statements?
a) //STEP1 EXEC PGM=MAC
b) //STEP1 EXEC MAC
When should I use a and when b ? Can I use PARM parameter with both?

Answer: 'a' is running a program MAC and 'b' is running a catalogued procedure named MAC.The PARM parameter is used to pass variable information to the program being executed in a job step.The processing program must contain instructions to retrieve the information and take advantage of it.PARM values are program-specific; that is, each program expects a different parm or possibly no parm at all.

For 'a' you can pass parms like this
Code:

//STEP01   EXEC PGM=MAC,                               
//             PARM=('MAP,SOURCE,OBJECT,NODECK,TERM,NOCMPR2')


For 'b' you can use parm but you need to specify the stepname in the procedure as shown below.
Code:

//STEP1 EXEC MAC,PARM.PS10=(ESD,TERM,NUM,STMT,DECK,OBJECT, 
//          NOMAP,NOLIST,'WORK=NOW')                         


In the above example we are execueting a catalgoued procedure MAC and we are passing values via parm for step PS10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mcmillan
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK

Last edited by mcmillan on Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
slade
Intermediate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Topics: 1
Location: Edison, NJ USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolushu,

Are you experiencing discomfort in the ligaments in your knee? I get the distinct feeling that your leg is being pulled. Perhaps by someone in that "other" forum?

Regards, Jack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcmillan
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Can you please give me a sample JCL to compile an OS/VS COBOL program?

2. And a sample JCL to compile a IBM COBOL for OS/390 program?

3. And a sample JCL to compile a ENTERPRISE COBOL FOR Z/OS program?

4. And a sample JCL to compile a COBOL/370 program?

5. And a sample JCL to compile a C/390 program?

6. How many processors available in s/390 MP3000 & G5?

7. What is the speed of s/390?

8. What is parallel Syplexing?

9. What is the maximum storage space can be used (Hard disk) with s/390?

10. What is VSAM string? Please give some details about that?

11. What is the name of the TSQ, which contains the formatted Dump of the abended CICS Program?

12. What is PDF in ISPF(Program development facility)? What is the advantage & functions of PDF?

13. Can I pass a VALUE (literal -instead of variable) to a subprogram while call by content?
Ex: CALL "PGM01" BY CONTENT 4.

PGM01 is a subpgm with PROCEDURE DIVISION USING A (a PIC 99 variable).

You previously answer as NO. But IBM manual said that pass by value is ok (only is BY CONTENT). Can you please check it for me in your terminal. (Sorry, My Proj Lead doesn't allow to write my own cobol program. He thinks, he knows everything. But he doesn't allow me to ask this type of questions, 'Cause he doesn't know the answer!!)

14. Can I use Language Environments in VS COBOL II?

15. Can I ACCEPT from SYSIN?
a) External Floating Point (ex: 01 A PIC 9V99E99)
b) Internal Floating Point (ex: 01 B USAGE COMP-1)
c) Pointer data item (ex: 01 C USAGE POINTER)

16. PROGRAM-ID. A.
...
PROGRAM-ID. B.
01 VARA PIC 9 GLOBAL.
END-PROGRAM. B.
PROGRAM-ID. C.
END-PROGRAM. C.
END-PROGRAM. A.
My question is Whether VARA is available in C. (C not contains B, but A contains B & C) Please don't tell to declare in PROGRAM A

17. Can I use '@' Symbol as my CURRENCY SIGN in VS COBOL II. (CURRENCY SIGN IS "@".) please remember @ is not in vs cobol II character set

18. Can I open a VSAM file in OUTPUT Mode if the file is already exist (in VS COBOL II). If I open that, whether the old contents are deleted or not. How can I DEFINE a VSAM file to be REUSABLE?


Last edited by mcmillan on Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
CaptBill
Beginner


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 100
Topics: 2
Location: Pasadena, California, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mcmillan said:
Quote:
...have around one year experience in mainframe environment...
which indicated to me he works in the IT industry. But then he said:
Quote:
...have around one year experience in mainframe environment...
so I have no idea of his experience level. I think we have been misled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mcmillan,
Please do some homework. Usually I have lot of patience at answering questions.Every post of yours has atleast 10 questions in each post and by now I would have answered 50 questions just for you.Even after that you are not referring the manuals . From the latest questions you had questions 1 thru 5 can be found in the respective manuals.questions 6 thru 9 are not of concern to the programmer. As a matter of fact I myself am not bothered to find out the hardware details of the S/390.Unless your interest is being a systems programmer I do not see any purpose knowing the hardware stuff.I had answered the questions about ACCEPT at least 3 times and you still come with the same question every time.We are here to answer at our spare time. Rightnow I am swamped with so much work that I hardly have time to answer. Enough of my rant. Here are the answers

Code:
1. Can you please give me a sample JCL to compile an OS/VS COBOL program?

Answer: I don't have any sample JCL and even IBM does not have OS/VS COBOL Manuals online.

Code:
2.And a sample JCL to compile a IBM COBOL for OS/390 program?

Answer: check this link for a sample compile JCL
http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/IGYA1101/5.1.1?DT=19930312141355

Code:
3.And a sample JCL to compile a ENTERPRISE COBOL FOR Z/OS program?

Answer: check this link for a sample compile JCL

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/IGY3PG00/2.1.1?DT=20011203125201

Code:
4.And a sample JCL to compile a COBOL/370 program?

Answer: Refer VS COBOL II compile JCL

Code:
5. And a sample JCL to compile a C/390 program?

Answer : check this link for compiling your C/C++ program

http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/bookmgr_OS390/BOOKS/BPXZA500/C89?DT=20010110165657

Code:

6. How many processors available in s/390 MP3000 & G5?
7. What is the speed of s/390?


Answer: check the following link for detailed explanation of S/390

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/s390/pes/

Check this link for S/390 G5 & G6 spec sheet

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver/zseries/library/specsheets/pdf/g2214221.pdf
Code:

8. What is parallel Syplexing?


Answer: Check this link for detailed explanation on parallel Syplexing

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver/zseries/pso/

Code:

9. What is the maximum storage space can be used (Hard disk) with s/390?


Answer: refer answer of question 6 & 7

Code:
10. What is VSAM string? Please give some details about that?


Answer: Strings (sometimes called place holders) are like cursors, each represents a position in the data set and are like holding your finger in a book to keep the place. The same ACB(Access Control Block) is used for all requests, and the data set needs to be opened only once. This means, for example, you could be processing a data set sequentially using one RPL(Request parameter list), and at the same time,using another RPL, directly access selected records from the same data set.

Keep in mind, though, that strings are not "owned" by the RPL any longer than the request holds position. Once a request gives up position (for example, with an ENDREQ), that string is free to be used by another request and must be repositioned in the data set by the user.
For each request, a string defines the set of control blocks for the exclusive use of one request. For example, if you use three RPLs, you should specify three strings. If the number of strings as needed by the concurrent requests for the ACB

For each request, a string defines the set of control blocks for the exclusive use of one request. For example, if you use three RPLs, you should specify three strings. If the number of strings you specify is not sufficient, and you are using NSR(Nonshared resources), the operating system dynamically extends the number of strings as needed by the concurrent requests for the ACB. Strings allocated by dynamic string addition are not necessarily in contiguous storage.

Dynamic string addition does not occur with LSR(Local shared resources) and GSR(Global shared resources). Instead, you get a logic error if you have more requests than available strings.The maximum number of strings that can be defined or added by the system is 255. Therefore, the maximum number of concurrent requests holding position in one data set at any one time is 255.

Code:

12. What is PDF in ISPF(Program development facility)? What is the advantage & functions of PDF?

Answer: PDF stands for Program Development Facility.An IBM licensed program used with ISPF to provide a work environment for the development of programs and the use of functions like Edit and Browse.Synonym for ISPF/PDF, Interactive System Productivity Facility/Program
Development Facility.

Code:
14. Can I use Language Environments in VS COBOL II?


Answer: YES

Code:

15. Can I ACCEPT from SYSIN?
a) External Floating Point (ex: 01 A PIC 9V99E99)
b) Internal Floating Point (ex: 01 B USAGE COMP-1)
c) Pointer data item (ex: 01 C USAGE POINTER)


Answer: You can ACCEPT any group item, or an elementary alphabetic, alphanumeric, alphanumeric-edited, numeric-edited or external decimal item..None of the items listed above match the condition.

Code:

16. PROGRAM-ID. A.
...
PROGRAM-ID. B.
01 VARA PIC 9 GLOBAL.
END-PROGRAM. B.
PROGRAM-ID. C.
END-PROGRAM. C.
END-PROGRAM. A.
My question is Whether VARA is available in C. (C not contains B, but A contains B & C) //Please don't tell to declare in PROGRAM A


Answer: NO

Code:

17. Can I use '@' Symbol as my CURRENCY SIGN in VS COBOL II. (CURRENCY SIGN IS "@".) //please remember @ is not in vs cobol II character set


Answer: Yes, but you need to specify that as special names.
ex:
Code:

SPECIAL-NAMES.             
    CURRENCY SIGN IS '@'. 

WORKING-STORAGE SECTION.               
                                       
01 A                   PIC @@@,@@9.   

Code:

18. Can I open a VSAM file in OUTPUT Mode if the file is already exist (in VS COBOL II). If I open that, whether the old contents are deleted or not.
How can I DEFINE a VSAM file to be REUSABLE?


Answer: To open a file that has never contained records (an empty file):

Use OPEN OUTPUT for ESDS files. Use OPEN OUTPUT or OPEN EXTEND for KSDS and RRDS files. (Either coding has the same effect.) If you have coded the file for random or dynamic access, you can also use OPEN I-O if the file is optional.

To open a file that already contains records (a loaded file):

Use OPEN INPUT, OPEN I-O, or OPEN EXTEND.For an ESDS or RRDS file opened EXTEND, the added records are placed after the last existing records in the file.For a KSDS file opened EXTEND, each record you add must have a record key higher than the highest record in the file.A file that once contained records, all of which have been deleted, can be opened as I-O or EXTEND.

Check the following JCL to define a vsam cluster to be reusable.

Code:

//STEP1    EXEC  PGM=IDCAMS
//SYSPRINT DD    SYSOUT=A
//SYSIN    DD    *
     DEFINE CLUSTER -
            (NAME(EXAMPLE.ESDS2) -
            RECORDSIZE(2500 3000) -
            SPANNED -
            VOLUMES(VSER03) -
            CYLINDERS(2 1) -
            NONINDEXED -
            REUSE -
            MASTERPW(ESD2MRPW) -
            UPDATEPW(ESD2UPPW)  ) -           
       CATALOG(RSTUCAT2/USERMRPW)
/*



Hope this helps...

cheers

kolusu

Slade: If this is indeed is cheap leg pulling trick from someone on the other board then I would just ignore them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
slade
Intermediate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Topics: 1
Location: Edison, NJ USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu: If this is indeed NOT a cheap leg pulling trick from someone on the other board then I would hope you get an "A". Mr. Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcmillan
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2003 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the difference between EXEC PGM=IDKR and //step10 EXEC IDKR

thank u


Last edited by mcmillan on Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Ranjish
Beginner


Joined: 22 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 28
Location: Chennai

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mcmillan,

For the question you have asked, the answer can be found in every basic JCL book. Please ask questions after referring some books and if you dont find the answer enywhere.

Anyway, I will answer this for you.

EXEC PGM=IDKR
This means that you are executing a program with the name IDKR.
You can pass the values for the program thru PARM keyword.

EXEC IDKR

This means that IDKR is a PROC. The proc will be having some steps.
You can directly pass the values to the proc.

eg:

//step10 EXEC IDKR,
// parm1=value1,
// parm2=value2

These values can be referred in the PROC.

Please read a JCL book regarding the PROCs.

cheers
Ranjish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mcmillan,

Please read the answers. I had answered the last question of yours on 22 Apr 2003 04:10 pm,Post no: 507.Please for god's sake don't keep posting questions which are already answered.

Ranjish: you are partially correct, but the parms you are trying to pass to the proc are the symbolic parameters. check my post no: 507 for explanation on passing parms to the proc.

Thanks

Kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Siva
Beginner


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2003 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolusu, I salute your Patience..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ranjish
Beginner


Joined: 22 Dec 2002
Posts: 64
Topics: 28
Location: Chennai

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kolusu,

Thanks for correcting me.
I have a small doubt. How can I search by post number? I tried to find out the post nuber 507. But was unsuccessful.

thanks
Ranjish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12367
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ranjish,

My post no 507 is just a couple of posts above in the same topic.It is the 18th post in this topic.Right now this board does not have the feature of searching the posts by relative number.sorry about that.

Kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Application Programming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group