MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Uncatalog a Dataset
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ramudu
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Topics: 3
Location: Hyderabad India

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 2:10 am    Post subject: Uncatalog a Dataset Reply with quote

Hi All,

Please tell me How to Uncataloge the dataset or PDS?
_________________
Thanking You,

Regards,
Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 939
Topics: 6
Location: Dublin 2

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read the JCL manual - particularly the DISP keyword
_________________
JCL is a means by which the programmer makes known to the computer the resources required by the program to be executed and certain characteristics of these resources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramudu
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Topics: 3
Location: Hyderabad India

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nic,

Thank you very much for the reply.

Actually my intension is like suppose if i had given some PDS name in =3.4 i should be able to see it where as some others give same PDS name they should get like 'No Dataset Names Found'.
_________________
Thanking You,

Regards,
Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 939
Topics: 6
Location: Dublin 2

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use option 3.2 to allocate/catalog/uncatalog etc. But you may not be able to uncatalog a dataset because it is a BAD THING and SMS may not allow it. If you can then remember it is not in the catalog so if you need to access it you will also have to provide the volser of the DASD volume it resides on. You cannot have it catalogued to yourself but no one else. If your only purpose is to stop other people accessing it then just change the RACF/ACF2 protection on it so that only you can read/write/update/delete it.
_________________
JCL is a means by which the programmer makes known to the computer the resources required by the program to be executed and certain characteristics of these resources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramudu
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Topics: 3
Location: Hyderabad India

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nic,

I already tried tht option but it is not working Sad and by the way is there any option by which we can prevent other user viewing our jobs when they are excecuting in Spool.
_________________
Thanking You,

Regards,
Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 939
Topics: 6
Location: Dublin 2

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

another thing - if you didn't want it being done in batch (JCL) but in ISPF then you should have posted in the TSO/ISPF section and then I would not have pointed you to the JCL manual. But, that said, just because you may have allocated it in ISPF does not mean that its catalog status cannot be changed by a batch job, either by the JCL itself or by a program that the job executes e.g. IDCAMS, IEHPROGM.
_________________
JCL is a means by which the programmer makes known to the computer the resources required by the program to be executed and certain characteristics of these resources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expat
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 458
Topics: 9
Location: Back in Bruxelles

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
is there any option by which we can prevent other user viewing our jobs when they are excecuting in Spool.

Why, what are you doing that you do not want others to see ?

Uncatalog a dataset - why. This should only be used in the case where there is an error, in that the dataset does not reside on the volume it is catalogued to.

If you go around and uncatalogue datasets leaving them in situ on DASD you are not only asking for problems, you will be causing them.

Quote:
Actually my intension is like suppose if i had given some PDS name in =3.4 i should be able to see it where as some others give same PDS name they should get like 'No Dataset Names Found'.

You can not do that, the dataset is either catalogued or not. Please do not use uncataloging datasets as a means of stopping others from viewing them. In the SMS environments that I set up, uncatalogued datasets are deleted WITHOUT BACKUP, maybe your environment os the same.
_________________
If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramudu
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Topics: 3
Location: Hyderabad India

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Expat,

Thank you very much for the reply.

Recently i came to know that we can the thing which you mentioned as quote and by giving DASD serial owner need to access the dataset.

So i need some clarification on this...
_________________
Thanking You,

Regards,
Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 939
Topics: 6
Location: Dublin 2

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your dataset is catalogued you only need to supply the DSN (and DISP if in batch).

If uncatalogued then you need to specify DSN and VOLSER in ISPF (and DISP and VOLSER and UNIT in batch).

BUT...you may not be allowed uncatalogued datasets - it is a hangover from the past and should be avoided. One day the operating system COULD make ALL uncatalogued datasets illegal and delete them as they occur.
_________________
JCL is a means by which the programmer makes known to the computer the resources required by the program to be executed and certain characteristics of these resources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbzTHEdinosauer



Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 1411
Topics: 26
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as everyone has attempted to explain to you: you should not try to enforce security thru
catlg/uncatlg means.

RACF (or whichever 3rd party solution you shop has) is sufficient.

as far as spool goes, that is a decision your managers have made.

Many have indicated that you motives may not justify you demands; it does not matter to me why you are trying to hide everything.

you can protect your datasets thru RACF.
your sdsf session is protected by RACF, and whether you have authority to modify
those settings is up to your security administrator. you need to talk to them.
_________________
Dick Brenholtz
American living in Varel, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
expat
Intermediate


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 458
Topics: 9
Location: Back in Bruxelles

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
you can protect your datasets thru RACF.

Perfectly true. You can usually set up an individual profile for a single or multiple datasets to restrict any access to those that you choose to allow.
_________________
If it's true that we are here to help others,
then what exactly are the others here for ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramudu
Beginner


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Topics: 3
Location: Hyderabad India

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all
_________________
Thanking You,

Regards,
Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
taltyman
JCL Forum Moderator
JCL Forum Moderator


Joined: 02 Dec 2002
Posts: 310
Topics: 8
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ramudu wrote:
Hi Nic,

Thank you very much for the reply.

Actually my intension is like suppose if i had given some PDS name in =3.4 i should be able to see it where as some others give same PDS name they should get like 'No Dataset Names Found'.


Make sure there is an "/" in the 3.4 panel for the option "Include Additional Qualifiers" if you are using a partial name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NicolasF
Beginner


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Topics: 3
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also use IEFBR14 to uncatalog a dataset
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 939
Topics: 6
Location: Dublin 2

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually you can use ANY program as it is not the program that uncatalogs it but the OS using the parameters of DISP which I mentioned in my first reply. OK, SOME programs, eg IDCAMS, IEHPROGM, cand specifically uncatalog a dataset but then they do not need the dataset allocated via JCL.
_________________
JCL is a means by which the programmer makes known to the computer the resources required by the program to be executed and certain characteristics of these resources.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group