MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hiding fields in a panel

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pradmenon
Beginner


Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Topics: 1
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:48 am    Post subject: Hiding fields in a panel Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to create a panel where some fields should be hidden initially and only be displayed upon choosing another displayed field.

For ex. the panel has a field "Are you using ASC?" for which if the input is Y, then some other fields are displayed to gather more information. If it is N then the fields are not displayed.

I know it is possible to display another pop-up panel where I can take that information if the field is set as Y, but I am trying to do all the processing in one panel without having to display another pop-up.

Thank you in advance!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superk
Advanced


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 684
Topics: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's all based on the attributes for those fields (INTENS=HI,LO,NON and TYPE=(INPUT,OUTPUT,TEXT)). Use variables for the proper attributes and change them as needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pradmenon
Beginner


Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Topics: 1
Location: INDIA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did try that and I am able to hide the fields initially, but even when I populate the ASC field as Y, the other fileds remain hidden. What do I need to do to get them to display? This is how I have my panel defined -

@ TYPE(INPUT) INTENS(&ASCVAL) CAPS(ON) COLOR(WHITE) HILITE(USCORE)
! TYPE(TEXT) INTENS(&ASCVAL)
---
---
# Are you using ASC? +_Z+ % Y OR N
! WHERE DO YOU WANT TO SELECT YOUR ASC RECORDS FROM? @Z+
! 1. MQB017
! 2. MDB423

)INIT
IF (&ASC = 'N')
&ASCVAL = NON
ELSE
&ASCVAL = HIGH
---
---


I also tried putting the IF condition in the REINIT section, but it make a difference either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nic Clouston
Advanced


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1075
Topics: 7
Location: At Home

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make the text of your hidden field variable set to blank. Whne the user enters 'Y' in the appropriate field and presses enter, assign the appropriate text to the variable and redisplay the screen. You can remove it using the same methodolgy too. What I have not been able to do - andhave not tried - is to stop the cursor skipping or tabbing to a hidden input field but most people would not try such a thing but if they do you can capture it and ignore or send them a message.
_________________
Utility and Program control cards are NOT, repeat NOT, JCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bob_buxton
Beginner


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 44
Topics: 0
Location: Hampshire, England

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try using a dynamic area where your controlling program builds the screen content.
_________________
Bob Buxton
Ex Websphere MQ for zOS development
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gd
Beginner


Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Topics: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think, you cannot change the attributes of a single panel while you are displaying the same panel.
When you enter some values in the panel fields, and hit ENTER, the panel execution completes and it cannot go back to reassign the INTENS or any other attribute.

You can copy the same panel twice and depending on the value you enter, display next panel accrodingly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acevedo
Beginner


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 127
Topics: 0
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe using ATTRCHAR? for example?
Code:

.ATTRCHAR([) = 'TYPE(TEXT)  INTENS(NON)'           
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group