MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Using OPC dataset trigger

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chuck
Beginner


Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Topics: 10

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2023 4:30 pm    Post subject: Using OPC dataset trigger Reply with quote

Hi,
We use OPC (TWS) for scheduling jobs. We have a job that is dataset triggered - an external process ftps a file to the mainframe and "overlays" a preexisting flat file
The last step of this job creates an empty file for the next execution.

But the creation of this empty dataset causes the job to be triggered again- this time it will do nothing because the first step checks if the input file is empty and causes all other steps to be bypassed.

Is there some way to prevent the job being triggered again by the creating of the empty file?
I really know bupkis about OPC itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolusu
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 12354
Topics: 75
Location: San Jose

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2023 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuck,

You can code the FTP step to create the dataset rather than use a Pre-existing dataset. In the FTP cards , use
Code:
 QUOTE SITE LRECL=nnnnn RECFM=xy BLKSIZE=nnnnnn primary=a secondary=b cyls


This will allocate "a" primary and "b" secondary in cylinders for the dataset
_________________
Kolusu - DFSORT Development Team (IBM)
DFSORT is on the Web at:
www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort

www.linkedin.com/in/kolusu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chuck
Beginner


Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 23
Topics: 10

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2023 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolusu wrote:
chuck,

You can code the FTP step to create the dataset rather than use a Pre-existing dataset. In the FTP cards , use
Code:
 QUOTE SITE LRECL=nnnnn RECFM=xy BLKSIZE=nnnnnn primary=a secondary=b cyls


This will allocate "a" primary and "b" secondary in cylinders for the dataset

Thanks Kolusu. I checked with our data transfer group and yes, it is a pattern they are familiar with. So in my JCL I will just delete that file at the end. Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> Job Control Language(JCL) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group