MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FileAid redefines

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jim haire
Beginner


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Topics: 40

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:00 am    Post subject: FileAid redefines Reply with quote

I am calling FileAid via REXX and am trying to find the syntax in my $$DD01 statement to show fields which have been redefined. Has anyone ever attempted this before?

I was able to get my occurs clause to expand by using the EXPAND_OCCURS=Y. I can't find anything in the manual about how the redefines can be included in the same way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papadi
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2009
Posts: 594
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you able to do this using only FileAid in batch (i.e. no rexx)?
_________________
All the best,

di
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jim haire
Beginner


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Topics: 40

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if the redefines feature is only available in batch? I would think that there would be some way to identify via a parameter that I want the redefined lines to display. I just haven't found it yet.

I've looked in Google, looked in the File-Aid/MVS manual, and gone into File-Aid itself and tried to build JCL through the ISPF screens to see if it would build JCL with a redefines option. The closest thing I have found is a primary command called REDEFINES. It seems to say that REDEFINES ON controls whether data item redefinitions are displayed. It says this command is available in Browse/Edit/Formatted/Vertical Formatted nodes.

I am using another primary command called FPRINT which I saw mentioned in different posts on this site. One of the statements in my REXX program looks as follows:

SYSIN.2 = '$$DD01 FPRINT SHOW=P,LAYOUT=JIMTEST,EXPAND_OCCURS=Y,OUT=5'

This works just fine, but does not show any redefinition. The JIMTEST layout has a REDEFINES clause, which I would like to appear in the output from my FPRINT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papadi
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2009
Posts: 594
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i use:
Code:
$$DD01 RLPRINT MEMBER=(ACOPYMEM),EXPAND_OCCURS=Y


the redefinition is expanded:
Code:
------- FIELD LEVEL/NAME ---------- --PICTURE--    FLD  START     END
5 ORIG-AMT                            9(9)V99        6     61      71 
5 FILLER REDEFINES ORIG-AMT                                         
5 FILLER                              GROUP          7     61      71 
  10 ORIG-1ST-BYTE                    X              8     61      61 
  10 REST-OF-ORIG                     9(8)V99        9     62      71 
5 DISP-AMT                            9(9)V99       10     72      82 


Note that the redefinitions are at the proper "start". . .

Does this do what you are looking for?
_________________
All the best,

di
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jim haire
Beginner


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Topics: 40

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get this to work if I change some of my allocations around.

Is there a way that the dataset which is using this layout can be displayed so that each piece of data is shown alongside the fields? That is my reason for using FPRINT.

Notice the difference below between RLPRINT and FPRINT. RLPRINT shows the field AGE-REDEF, but does not display the contents of my dataset. FPRINT shows the contents of the dataset, but ignores the field called AGE-REDEF. I am trying to get that field to show up along with its contents. Thanks for your help!

From RLPRINT, I get the following:
Code:

------- FIELD LEVEL/NAME ---------- --PICTURE--    FLD  START     END
TEST-LAYOUT                                                 1      28
5 FIRST-NAME                          X(10)          1      1      10
5 LAST-NAME                           X(12)          2     11      22
5 AGE                                 99             3     23      24
5 AGE-REDEF REDEFINES AGE
5 AGE-REDEF                           XX             4     23      24
5 PREVIOUS-AGE(1) OCCURS 2 TIMES
                                      99             5     25      26
5 PREVIOUS-AGE(2)                     99             5     27      28



From FPRINT, I get the following:
Code:

 ---- FIELD LEVEL/NAME ------- PICTURE- ----+----1----+----2----+----3--

 5 FIRST-NAME                  X(10)    JOHN
 5 LAST-NAME                   X(12)    HAIRE
 5 AGE                         99       49
 5 PREVIOUS-AGE(1) OCCURS 2 TIMES
                               99       48
 5 PREVIOUS-AGE(2)             99       47
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papadi
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2009
Posts: 594
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Time permitting, i'll look when i get to a mainframe connection in the morning. It is close to midnight, so i'll be away for a while Smile
_________________
All the best,

di
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papadi
Supermod


Joined: 20 Oct 2009
Posts: 594
Topics: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Time didn't permit much looking today. . .

Good luck,

di
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jim haire
Beginner


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 140
Topics: 40

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not finding much on this. I think I'll have to do an RLPRINT to determine the layout (with redefines) and then do an FPRINT to determine the data associated with each field. Then I'll go back and use logic to determine how the data would fit into the redefined fields.

Thanks for looking into this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group