MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index MVSFORUMS.com
A Community of and for MVS Professionals
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Quick Manuals   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Creating a PDS Using an Existing PDS as Model in REXX

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Phantom
Data Mgmt Moderator
Data Mgmt Moderator


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 1056
Topics: 91
Location: The Blue Planet

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:33 am    Post subject: Creating a PDS Using an Existing PDS as Model in REXX Reply with quote

I need to create a PDS which will have the same statistics (LRECL, BLOCK SIZE, ........) as an Existing PDS. I want to do this in REXX.

One way I know is to get the Information about the existing PDS using the "LISTDSI" command and use these information in the Alloc command to create the new PDS.

But I would like to know, whether is there any better way to do this operation.

Pls give me your suggestions.

Thanks,
Phantom,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Premkumar
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Topics: 7
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"ALLOC DS('new.pds') LIKE('old.pds') MAXVOL(1)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Phantom
Data Mgmt Moderator
Data Mgmt Moderator


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 1056
Topics: 91
Location: The Blue Planet

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Premkumar,

I had few problems executing the command that you suggested.

1. The new PDS is created in SCRATCH. When I tried to specify the STORCLAS & MGMTCLAS parameters it gave an error saying that the new PDS is not cataloged. (IKJ56893I)

2. The new PDS has a different BLOCKSIZE. The original PDS has a block size of 8000 (LRECL = 80, RECFM = FB). But the new PDS has a block size of 27920.

Please help me solving these two problems.

Thanks for your suggesstion.

Regards,
Phantom,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blowbeat
Beginner


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You can specify BLKSIZE(8000) but SMS may even override that I believe. Unless it is absolutely neccesary to have 8000, I'd leave the block size as SMS set it.

For the other issue, you'd need to post the messages following IKJ56893I too.

Cheers, Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Phantom
Data Mgmt Moderator
Data Mgmt Moderator


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 1056
Topics: 91
Location: The Blue Planet

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blowbeat,

Here is the message that I received when I tried to specify the Dataclas & Storclas commands in the Alloc command

Code:

    IKJ56893I DATA SET TSONJAY.NAVIN.NREXX NOT ALLOCATED+                             
    IGD17293I DATA SET TSONJAY.NAVIN.NREXX HAS PARTITIONED ORGANIZATION AND IS NOT
ELIGIBLE                                                                           
    TO BE A MULTI-VOLUME DATA SET, ALLOCATION FAILED                                 
    ***                                                                               



here is the actual code

Code:

 "ALLOC                      ", 
 "      DS('"NEW_PDS_NAME"') ", 
 "      LIKE                 ", 
 "      ("OLD_PDS_NAME")     ", 
 "      STORCLAS(CTSDASD)    ", 
 "      DATACLAS(CTSPDS)     "   


I tried specifying the following code also, but got the same error

Code:

 "ALLOC                      ", 
 "      DS('"NEW_PDS_NAME"') ", 
 "      STORCLAS(CTSDASD)    ", 
 "      DATACLAS(CTSPDS)     ",
 "      LIKE                 ", 
 "      ("OLD_PDS_NAME")     "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Premkumar
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Topics: 7
Location: Chennai, India

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phantom,

Why don't you try with MAXVOL(1) as I suggested earlier?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Phantom
Data Mgmt Moderator
Data Mgmt Moderator


Joined: 07 Jan 2003
Posts: 1056
Topics: 91
Location: The Blue Planet

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Premkumar,

I specified MAXVOL(1) also, But there is no difference. It creates a PDS with a block size of 27920 instead of 8000. and I got the same error messages when I specified the STORCLAS & DATACLAS options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blowbeat
Beginner


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 6
Topics: 0

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the SMS parameters specified are to avoid the new PDS to be ' allocated in SCRATCH' try to find out who's responsible for data management and ask them the correct values to specify.
And, again, the blocksize may be deliberatly set to 27920 for performance purposes and normally your application should not be bothered with block sizes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    MVSFORUMS.com Forum Index -> TSO and ISPF All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


MVSFORUMS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group